History of the Sheriff's Office - Click photo for more information

Sheriff Thomas G. Dalbec
Term: 2003-

Tom Dalbec was born in Superior WI in 1965 and was a lifelong resident of the Billings Park neighborhood until graduating from SSHS in 1983. After graduation he joined the United States Air Force and was honorably discharged in 1987. Tom served with the MN Air National Guard from 1989-1991. Tom is a graduate of WITC-Superior with an A.S. Degree in Computer Programing and has a B.S. Degree in Criminal Justice from Warren University.

Tom joined the Superior Police Dept. in 1991 and served as local union president, as well as on the Board of Directors of the Wisconsin Professional Police Assoc.

Tom left the SPD in 2001 for the Douglas County Sheriff's Office, and was elected Sheriff of Douglas County in 2003.


Sheriff Thomas G. Dalbec
Term: 2003-

Sheriff Richard Pukema
Term: 1999-2002

Sheriff Larry McDonald
Term: 1995-1998

Sheriff Marvin Arneson
Term: 1991-1994

Sheriff Richard A. Lindberg
Term: 1989-1990

Sheriff Fred J. Johnson
Term: 1969-1988

Sheriff Louis Bannick
Term: 1965-1968

Sheriff Elmer Quist
Term: 1961-1964

Sheriff Louis Bannick
Term: 1957-1960

Sheriff Anthony Jenda
Term: 1953-1956

Sheriff Elton Ekroth
Term: 1951-1952

Sheriff William Sims
Term: 1947-1950

Sheriff Elton Ekroth
Term: 1943-1946

Sheriff Frank Carlson
Term: 1939-1942

Sheriff Arthur Sedin
Term: 1935-1938

Sheriff Frank Carlson
Term: 1931-1934

Sheriff M. J. McGuire
Term: 1928-1930

Sheriff H. A. Turnbull
Term: 1927

Sheriff M. J. McGuire
Term: 1925-1926

Sheriff W. A. Hagreen
Term: 1923-1924

Sheriff George Ostrom
Term: 1922

Sheriff A. E. Buchanen
Term: 1921

Sheriff M. J. McGuire
Term: 1919-1920

Sheriff A. E. Buchanen
Term: 1917-1918

Sheriff George Commiskey
Term: 1915-1916

Sheriff Gustaf Carlson
Term: 1913-1914

Sheriff Edward McKinnon
Term: 1911-1912

Sheriff Gustaf Carlson
Term: 1909-1910

Sheriff C. H. Bird
Term: 1907-1908

Sheriff Alex McKenzie
Term: 1905-1906

Sheriff Edward McKinnon
Term: 1903-1904

Sheriff W. J. Sommer
Term: 1901-1902

Sheriff I. N. Snyder
Term: 1899-1900

Sheriff John W. Hoele
Term: 1895-1896

Sheriff Martin Pattison
Term: 1883-1884
CRIME TIP HOTLINE 715-395-1230